## Supreme champion barley grower



Champion beet grower Alan Beck won Norfolk's top malting barley title to add to the family's haul of silverware at Stalham Farmers' Club's annual dinner. His sample of Flagon malting barley was judged top of the crops in the annual competition against friendly rivals, Holt & District Farmers' Club.

Bob King, commercial director of the Crisp Malting Group, had cast his eye over another Flagon sample grown by Ed Jones, of Harold Jones Farms, Little Witchingham, which had won Holt's barley championship.

It was the first time that Mr Beck, of Brunstead, and his son, Geoffrey, had won the club's barley trophy, which was first presented in 1937.

The Beck family, which has farmed at Brunstead since 1919, also won the Cantley Cup for highest overall yield in the latest beet campaign. C N Beck & Sons produced 1.5 tonnes per hectare more than the club's retiring president Thomas Love, of Walcott Farms. The club's new chairman, William Sands, of HBS Farms, finished a very close third, lso with a yield of more than 100 tonnes per hectare.

In the competition for best beet crop, Robert Cook, of Ingham, retained the trophy for the third year in a row. The Beck family was runner-up and Tim Papworth, of LF Papworth, of Felmingham, was third.

Former Norfolk NFU chairman Thomas Love won the club's potato cup with a crop of Innovator grown at Brunstead.

Former North Norfolk MP Sir Norman Lamb, who was the guest speaker and proposed the toast to Agriculture and Stalham Farmers' Club, presented the potato trophy to Mr Love's son William.

There was success too – for the club's new president, George Gay, who finished third in the barley competition with a sample of Laureate. He won the supreme inter-club barley trophy three years ago with a sample of the same variety.

Last year, the result was a tie because Edward de Feyter entered the same sample for Stalham as his father Graham had for Holt.

The annual dinner, which was the first to be held since 2019 when the then North Norfolk MP Sir Norman had been invited to address the club, was attended by more than 70 members and guests at North Walsham Rugby Club, Scottow. The club also welcomed as guests, Holt's chairman, Pat Cubitt and the president, Richard Brooks.

Sir Norman highlighted the growing concerns and lengthy delays in access to mental health treatment and counselling for young people, especially for a record number of teenagers and children. Since he had launched Norfolk's Mental Health and Wellbeing Fund, more than £350,000 had been raised and initial grants of some £75,000 had just been made to help local groups.

Will Sands, chairman, thanked Sir Norman for speaking and presenting the awards. He was given a Stalham tie and a copy of Alec Douet's book, "Breaking New Ground,", a history of Norfolk Agriculture 1914 to 1984.

## 2021 Competition results

Potato Cup: 1 Walcott Farms; 2 LF Papworth; 3 Robin Baines.

Sugar beet – whole crop: 1 Robert Cook; 2 CN Beck & Sons; 3 LF Papworth. Cantley Cup: 1 CN Beck & Sons; 2 Walcott Farms; 3 HBS Farms.

Two-acre – The competition was not judged in 2020 or 2021, partly because of Covid 19 lockdown issues. The trophy was presented to Will Sands, of HBS Farm, which won the award in 2019.

Supreme inter-club barley champion – CN Beck & Sons; reserve, Ed Jones, of Harold Jones Farms, Little Witchingham.

Barley: 1 CN Beck & Sons (Flagon); 2 Milligen McLeod (Maris Otter); 3 Mautby Farms (Laureate). Wheat: 1 Milligen McLeod (Gleam); 2 and 3 LF Papworth (Skyscraper).

Special award - A special presentation of the E H Wenn President's Cup was made by the retiring chairman Chris Borrett to Thomas Love in recognition of his many years of support for the club.

He had stood at last month's annual meeting after completing his three-year term as president.

The trophy was last awarded in 2018 having been re-represented to the club by Jennifer Grier.

Other winners have included the late Frank Read in 2012, Ken Leggett, Tim Papworth, potato judge Denis Walsh in 2015 and Stuart Marsh in 2018.

New honorary vice-presidents – Retiring chairman Chris Borrett told about 70 members and guests at the annual dinner that three new honorary vice-presidents had been elected at the recent annual meeting. His announcement that Christopher Deane, Thomas Love and Tim Papworth had been appointed was warmly applauded.

All three had given generously of their time to support the club over many years. They join the current honorary vice-presidents, Jonathan Deane, Ken Leggett MBE and Michael Pollitt.